Skip to Main Content

SAFE Grand Prize Winners Announced


Riverton VISA Winners
Riverton VISA Winners
Columbus VISA Winners
Columbus VISA Winners

Congratulations to Riverton High School and Columbus High School for being the 2013-2014 SAFE (Seatbelts Are For Everyone) Grand Prize Winners.

Riverton High School students finished the school year with the highest seatbelt usage rate in the county at 83.8%

Columbus High School finished the school year with the highest percentage of improvement by increasing their seatbelt usage rate to 81.3%.

The SAFE Program allows for two grand prizes to be awarded each year, one for the highest overall rates and the most improved. 

Both schools did a tremendous job on presenting safety messages and education to their students.

Winners from the grand prize drawings for VISA Gift Cards from Riverton are:

Back row: Terron Allen, Charles Oliver, Devin Pearson, Isaac Culley, Sam Pierce

Front row: Hannah Morrill, Trinity Laswell, Angel Hart, Clayton Carver, Kendra Call

From Columbus:

Back row – left to right - Travis Hodgson Clayton Cossairt Zack Kresyman Ryan Clark Austin Napier Colton Speer

Front Row - left to right - Shannon Tremblay Kylie Jones Caitlin Delmont Jaci Hill

The SAFE Program is a joint partnership between the schools, law enforcement and private industry focusing on teaching and encouraging high school students to wear their seatbelts.

SAFE is funded by: Columbus Telephone Company, Jay Hatfield Chevrolet, Mike Carpino Ford, State Farm Insurance – Agent Terry Bessman, Empire District Electric Company, Cherokee County Attorney Nathan Coleman, AAA of Kansas, Kansas Trauma Program, Kansas Department of Transportation, Kansas Department of Health and Environment and the Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office.

Submit an Anonymous Crime Tip