Skip to Main Content



All of our communications officers are responsible for answering and documenting incoming phone calls, including emergency 911 calls, handling all radio communications with sheriff's deputies, and others in the field, entering and maintaining accurate records, such as arrest warrants and Protections from Abuse into the National Crime Information Center (NCIC), handling inquiries into NCIC and the Kansas Criminal Justice Information System (KCJIS), monitoring severe weather and coordinating operations with law enforcement and other emergency service agencies.

The Cherokee County Communications Division is the primary dispatch center for the Cherokee County Sheriff's Office, Columbus Police Department, Columbus Fire Department, Scammon Police & Fire Departments, Weir Police & Fire Departments, West Mineral Fire Department, Cherokee County Emergency Management Office and the Cherokee County Emergency Medical Service in Baxter Springs, Columbus & Galena.

They also provide dispatching services to other organizations, such as the Kansas Highway Patrol, Kansas Bureau of Investigations, Kansas State Fire Marshall's Office and medical aircraft when working in Cherokee County.







Submit an Anonymous Crime Tip