Skip to Main Content

You Drink. You Drive. You Lose. 2012


You Drink & Drive - You Lose logo

You Drink. You Drive. You Lose.

The Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office will be joining nearly 150 other Kansas Law Enforcement Agencies, along with the Kansas Highway Patrol, to remove impaired drivers from the roadways during the 2012 You Drink. You Drive. You Lose. campaign.

This enforcement campaign, which runs from August 16th through Labor Day, September 3rd, provides extra officers to patrol our roadways specifically looking for intoxicated drivers, and is underwritten by a grant from the Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT).

It is not uncommon for 61 people to be injured and 3 people killed every day on Kansas roads in alcohol-related crashes.  According to KDOT, if you are involved in such a crash – in any capacity – you are two and one-half (2½) times more likely to be injured and four-and-one-half (4½) times more likely to be seriously injured or killed than if you are involved in a crash in which alcohol is not determined to be a factor.  The ratio of death to injury in alcohol-related crashes is almost four (4) times higher than the death to injury ratio for non-alcohol related crashes.     

According to Sheriff David Groves, “I want this enforcement to remind drivers of several things: 

“First, if you’re going to drink do it responsibly by planning ahead and lining someone up who is not going to be drinking to get you home.  Don’t wait until it’s time to go home to start asking.  Chances are, if you do that, you will wind up with a driver who thinks he’s sober enough to be driving, but may not be. 

“Second, picture families you know, and then consider how it would be to wake up every day to the memory of your decision to drive after drinking – a decision which brought injury or death to one of them. 

“Third, officers may pull you over for any number of traffic infractions and mechanical deficiencies.  If they do and detect a hint of alcohol you will be tested.  If you fail the test you’re looking at a fine of $500-$2,500; up to one year in jail; the suspension or even permanent loss of your driver’s license; and the installation of an ignition interlock device in your car.  Imagine not being able to start your car without blowing into the interlock’s alcohol sensor several times during an afternoon’s errands.  Don’t take the chance. 

“Fourth, we ask everyone to be our eyes when on the road.  If you see suspicious driving behaviors take note of location and direction, as well as the vehicle’s description, and call 911 as soon as it’s safe to do so.  

“Fifth, you can expect the Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office to enforce impaired driving laws – during this campaign and all year long. 

“Finally, always remember that the best protection against a drunk driver (even themselves) is the use of seat belts and appropriate child restraints – every trip, every time.  They save lives and reduce serious injury every day, and it’s the law.”  

Submit an Anonymous Crime Tip